Portrait of young woman using laptop at cafe she is working on laptop computer at a coffee shop

What Are My Rights if I’m Injured On the Job?

Workplace injuries are an unfortunately common occurrence in the Sunshine State. From construction sites to corporate offices, employees inevitably face workplace hazards. When a worker is injured or becomes ill on the job, they may be entitled to file a workers’ compensation claim. Please continue reading to learn the rights employees have when workplace injuries happen, how our proficient employees are afforded when workplace injuries occur, and how our proficient Manatee County Work Injury Lawyers can help protect those rights. 

What is Workers’ Compensation?

In Florida, employers must provide workers’ compensation insurance for their employees. Failure to do so not only puts employees at risk but also subjects employers to severe penalties. Workers’ compensation is a “no-fault” insurance program that provides benefits for medical treatment, wage replacement, and permanent disability to those who suffer job-related injuries or illnesses, as well as death benefits to the dependents of workers who have died as a result of their employment. Therefore, workers will receive benefits regardless of who was at fault as long as they were injured while acting within the scope of their jobs.

What Should I Do if I’m Injured On the Job?

Following a workplace accident, taking specific measures to safeguard your legal rights is imperative. Firstly, you should seek immediate medical attention. It’s crucial to have your injuries examined and treated by a medical professional, regardless of how minor you think the injury is. This is necessary to ensure your health and well-being. Prompt medical care is also critical in establishing a clear record of your injuries and mitigating the risk of further damage.

Under Florida law, employees have 30 days to notify their employer of workplace injuries or illnesses. Although you have 30 days to report your injury, you should notify your employer immediately. If you miss this strict legal deadline, your workers’s compensation claim could be denied.

After reporting your injury, you should gather evidence to establish your case. It’s beneficial to write down everything you remember about the incident, including the time and place of the injury, how it happened, how the company responded, and anything else that may be relevant. If there were any witnesses, get statements. Videos and pictures of the scene and your injuries can also help support your claim.

Furthermore, the most crucial step you can take is to retain the legal services of an experienced Manatee County work injury lawyer who can help fight for the compensation you deserve. Contact Becker & Lindauer, LLC, to discuss your legal options if you have been injured on the job. Allow our firm to represent your interests today to maximize your chances of achieving a favorable outcome.